Bumrah leads India to 47-run win over Afghanistan in Super Eight at T20 World Cup

MLC stars Netravalkar, Khan, Patel aim to continue USA’s historic run at T20 Super8s World Cup

DALLAS: Team USA made history by advancing to the Super 8 stage of the 2024 International Cricket Council Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time, decided by an elimination in Broward County.

The US advance over cricket powerhouse Pakistan has sent shockwaves around the world and is mobilizing Americans to move away from the national team.

Team USA, as the host nation making its World Cup debut, has captured the world’s attention. After defeating Canada convincingly in the opening game, the team also emerged victorious against Pakistan in a thrilling super over, putting them in a position to finish second in Group A.

Notable Major League Cricketers on Team USA are: Ali Khan, Nitish Kumar and Shadley Van Schalkwyk (Los Angeles Knight Riders); Steven Taylor, Nosthush Kenjige, Monank Patel and Shayan Jahangir (MI New York); Corey Anderson (San Francisco Unicorns); Harmeet Singh, (Seattle Orca); Milind Kumar (Texas Super Kings); and Andries Gous, Saurabh Netravalkar and Yasir Mohammad (Washington Freedom).

With the USA set to face South Africa, West Indies and England in Group 2 of the Super 8 round, MLC Chief Executive Officer Vijay Srinivasan said the team’s advancement to the next stage of the World Cup was an incredible achievement.

“Congratulations to Team USA who, in their first World Cup appearance, gave us three thrilling matches of cricket against the best teams in the world and earned their spot in the Super 8s.

“This is a historic moment for the sport, especially for our Major League Cricket players representing the USA. We hope this inspires boys and girls across the country to pick up a bat and a ball this summer and encourages sports fans to attend an MLC game or tune in to the broadcast.

“The USA’s advancement to the Super 8 means they will automatically qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2026, giving Major League Cricket a strong platform for continued growth.”

The MLC’s six teams—Los Angeles Knight Riders, New York MI, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings and Washington Freedom—boast some of the world’s best international and domestic talent preparing to represent respective countries at the World Cup.

All 47 MLC players who participated in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, listed by team, are:

Los Angeles Knight Riders

Ali Khan – USA

Nitish Kumar – USA

Shadley Van Schalkwyk – USA

Andre Russell – WI

Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh

David Miller – South Africa

Josh Little – Ireland

MI New York

Steven Taylor – USA

Nosthush Kenjige – USA

Monank Patel – USA

Shayan Jahangir – USA

Tim David – Australia

Nicholas Pooran – West Indies

Rashid Khan – Afghanistan

Kagiso Rabada – South Africa

Trent Boult – New Zealand

Anrich Nortje — South Africa

Romario Shepherd — West Indies

San Francisco Unicorns

Corey Anderson – USA

Matt Henry – New Zealand

Josh Inglis – Australia

Sherfane Rutherford – West Indies

Haris Rauf – Pakistan

Pat Cummins – Australia

Orca from Seattle

Harmeet Singh – USA

Quinton de Kock – South Africa

Heinrich Klaasen – South Africa

Michael Bracewell – New Zealand

Ryan Rickelton – South Africa

Obed McCoy – West Indies

Imad Wasim – Pakistan

Texas Super Kings

Milind Kumar – USA

Mitchell Santner – New Zealand

Devon Conway – New Zealand

Aiden Markram – South Africa

Daryl Mitchell – New Zealand

Naveen-ul-Haq — Afghanistan

Marcus Stoinis – Australia

Freedom of Washington

Andries Gous – USA

Saurabh Netralvakar – USA

Yasir Mohammad – USA

Marco Jansen – South Africa

Akeal Hosein – West Indies

Glenn Maxwell – Australia

Travis Head – Australia

Lockie Ferguson – New Zealand

Rachin Ravindra – New Zealand

The second MLC season begins on July 5.

Leave a Comment